Baby beluga in the deep blue (Hudson) bay…

Belugas - kayakThe sun beats down on my bright yellow kayak as gentle waves rock the hull back and forth. Directly behind me is the port of Churchill, one of the most diverse and interesting places I’ve ever visited. Directly in front is a pod of beluga whales swimming about, magnificent glistening creatures gliding gracefully in and out of the waters of the Hudson Bay.

I’ve spent the past half hour trying to maneuver my watercraft near enough to get a good glimpse, but they are awesomely elusive. Just when I get relatively close, they dart off in the opposite direction, leaving little hope I’ll ever get to see them. Until, all of a sudden, they turn and head in my exact direction. Dozens of them. Coming straight at me… Read entire story.

Posted on July 27, 2015, in Manitoba and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

